Acting from the still centre point

In these turbulent times, we desire connection and long for peace. Everyday we hear about events that shake us, sadden us and make us realise the extent of disconnection and fear and yet what is important is understanding the sanctity of life and how each of us is a sacred being.

In the busyness we forget to care and often take little time to find time to think and reflect. I find for me to feel and sense the still point I like to take a walk in beautiful surroundings, listen to music and them express myself through movement; that is what helps me to unwind and find the caring part of myself. In this state of grace we can feel connection and the expansiveness. The peace we seek is found in experiencing ourselves as part of something larger. In such quiet places I find it easier to listen to the subtle guidance.

From Keeping Still by Pablo Neruda

If we were not so single-minded

about keeping our lives moving,

and for once could do nothing.

perhaps a huge silence

might interrupt this sadness

of never understanding ourselves

and of threatening ourselves with death.

Each of us as a direct relationship to the earth and we are all part of the whole, – the web of life and therefore we all have our own role to play. I want to be able to offer the gifts that I have in the way that only I can do. As we all have gifts and we just have to find them, trust them and give then so that we can fully participate in life. We can’t always know what our own contribution is to be or the part that we play in making the future – but what is important is the making of offerings in order to feed the spirit/

One of the most calming and powerful actions you can do to intervene in a stormy world is to stand up and show your soul. Soul on deck shines like gold in dark times. The light of the soul throws sparks, can send up flares, builds signal fires, causes proper matters to catch fire. To display the lantern of soul in shadowy times like these – to be fierce and to show mercy toward others; both are acts of immense bravery and greatest necessity.               Clarissa Pinko Estes From ‘We were made for these times’

There are times when we need to be alone. It helps us to heal and listen carefully to what our next steps on our journey need to be. It helps us to dig down into our soul and get the guidance we need away from the raucous and din of our daily lives.

Sometimes conversely we need to be connected to others and realise we are not alone by asking for help. In some cultures this feels so much easier than in the individualistic place that the west has become. I remember in Africa and Nepal there would often be times when the community came together to dance and sing. Here in France where I live now the community comes together frequently to drink and eat together. But establishing circles of support where you can share food together and invite relationship is great too.

Self Portrait

It doesn’t interest me if there is one God
Or many gods.
I want to know if you belong — or feel abandoned;
If you know despair
Or can see it in others.
I want to know
If you are prepared to live in the world
With its harsh need to change you;
If you can look back with firm eyes
Saying “this is where I stand.”
I want to know if you know how to melt
Into that fierce heat of living
Falling toward the center of your longing.
I want to know if you are willing
To live day by day
With the consequence of love
And the bitter unwanted passion
Of your sure defeat.
I have been told
In that fierce embrace
Even the gods
Speak of God.

~ David Whyte ~

6 thoughts on “Acting from the still centre point

  1. I appreciate your descriptions of loneliness and finding the time to be with yourself to heal. The reminder of being alone to reflect and listen to silence in order to disrupt chaos. I enjoyed reading your words. Thank you I look forward to reading more 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

