Discernment: Finding Your Own Path

Sometimes as we walk through life we come to a fork in the road and we have to choose. Do we take the road that is wider and lots of people have already been that way before us or do we take the path that appears less straight forward? How do we discern which path is the one that we need to take?

The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

I feel it is important to have the confidence to follow your own soul purpose, and that may end up being the path less travelled. We often have choices that we need to take. It is not always easy to know which one to make. Usually, though as long as we make a choice and don’t stop and procrastinate it is enough for us to move on. Listening to your inner voice to find out what is best is sometimes not that easy though. There are several times when I have ignored that inner voice and only realised it was something that I needed to listen to and have missed out on something important as I chose to ignore it. There are other things involved though some of our choices and decisions are made based on our principles. I try and look at my desires and what I want from my life regularly. I have found it useful to consider what is really important to me and have made it much more explicit in the way I live my life. The principles I hold important are:

  • Create harmony
  • Innovation
  • Integrity and authenticity
  • Creativity
  • Grace and elegance

I will explore each of these and what I mean by them in future blogs.

Leave a Reply

