Joyfulness

A thing of beauty is a joy forever

John Keats

The Dalai Lama and Bishop Tutu had a discussion about joy and have outlined eight pillars of joy. These are:

  1. Perspective
  2. Forgiveness
  3. Humility
  4. Gratitude
  5. Compassion
  6. Generosity and
  7. Acceptance

Being about to reflect on each of these attributes and the part they play in your life and how joyful your life is enlightening. What does your roof of your life look like? Is  it smooth or undulating as some of its pillars are tall and others are short.

If I find myself criticising or complaining about my life I look to see if I have lost perspective. It is so easy to feel hard done by or blame others for what is happening and not accept the part you have played in what is happening around you.

Having these eight pillars for me gives me principles to live by. Can I look at life around me and see the funny side? So often we are so serious and need to lighten up!

Being joyful for me is so much about being at one with myself. I can look around and see the beauty in everything. I can laugh at myself and not take myself too seriously. I can open my heart and forgive myself so that I am no longer a victim who puts obstacles in my own way. I can love myself and therefore be less critical of myself and therefore of others too.

What I have seen is yours and not mine,

Now I can laugh and see the funny side of life;

I can find the fun and joy in my heart,

It spills over into all that I do.

A shared smile and a sense of joy,

Love has come back to me.

Peace and tranquility now have a place;

My heart is open and I can love,

The treasure in my life is visible to you and me.

 

My future unfolds with hope and joy

Deepak Chopra

 

Eternity

He who binds himself to joy

Does the winged life destroy;

Be he who kisses the joy as it flies

Lives in eternity’s sunrise

William Blake

 

 

 

One thought on “Joyfulness

Leave a Reply

